Embassy of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia -Doha

Headline News

General Overveiw

Official Name: Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
Location: in the East of Africa, 8° 0' 0" N / 39° 0' 0" E 
Area: 1,104,300 sq. km
Capital City: Addis Ababa 


Other major cities: Adama (Nazret or Nazareth), Hawassa (Awassa), Dire Dawa, Jimma, Bahir Dar, Mekele

Sea Port: Ethiopia is landlocked but uses Djibouti port; Berbera Port in Somaliland and Port Sudan in Sudan are also used occasionally. There is plan to use Mombasa port in Kenya as well.

Major Airport: Bole International Airport located in Addis Ababa. It has two terminals: international and domestic. The domestic terminal serves domestic flights as well as Ethiopian Airlines flights to and from neighboring and some East African countries.
Currency: Birr (1 Birr=100 cents, 1 cent, 5 cents, 10 cents, 25 cents, 50 cents and Br. 1 coins; Br. 1, Br. 5, Br. 10, Br. 50, Br. 100 notes available).


Ethiopia is the ninth largest country in Africa and is located in the northeastern region, popularly referred to as the Horn of Africa. As a landlocked country, Ethiopia is bound to the east by Djibouti and Somalia, to the north and northeast by Eritrea, to the south by Kenya and to the west by the Sudan.  The total land area is 440,284 miles (1.1 million square kilometers).  There are ten major rivers (7000 km long) and lakes (7400 sq. km. in area).